Indian Premier League- The New Sensation of Cricket

Indian Premier League, the name that changed the face of cricket in India. Considering India as a cricket loving country, IPL easily gathered a large number of crowds in every match. In 1977, when Karry Packer came up with the idea of World Series Cricket, nobody could have ever imagined the cricketing standards will evolve so immensely.
How IPL Came into Existence?
The Indian Cricket League which was a predominated series back then was terminated by the father of the cricketing board, the BCCI. And Lalit Modi, another huge name in the cricketing history was then given the honor to come up with something similar to that but more entertaining.
Keeping the concept of the European Football Team and NBA in mind, the structure of the IPL teams made their entry. With the initiation of the game, eight different teams comprising of players from all over the country marked their way in processing this game concept.
And it was just the exact thing redefining entertainment totally. With the advent of the IPL and the way it was played, it soon became a revolutionized thing for the people who simply loved the concept immensely.
Formation of IPL Teams
IPL, being the brainchild of BCCI include a series of the auction for choosing the best players for the respective teams. The buyers can be anybody- media stars, business tycoons or people from the millionaire hubs. Well, it can be said that this process created some of the sparks in this genre of game.
The owners of IPL franchises bid for the favorite players and are selected for the respective teams. While the players also get benefited immensely in this process, playing as a team, with the players from different countries, help each other to have a better understanding of the game tactics.
Over the years, IPL has seen the rise and down of many teams due to the strict ethics of the game played. Different teams have been changed and this 2017 season of IPL have these following teams.

  • Delhi Daredevils.
  • Kings XI Punjab.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders.
  • Mumbai Indians.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad.
  • Rising Pune Supergiant.
  • Gujarat Lions.

Match Format
The league follows a ‘round-robin format, ’ and each team plays each other twice in the league matches. The top four performing teams qualify for the playoffs followed by two qualifying matches. The loser of the qualifying matches competes against each other in the Eliminator round. And the winners play the finals and the ultimate team of the season is decided.
What Did the League Offer?
IPL gives a chance to the different talents of the state of India. This has paved a way to pick the breed of talents that were hard to find so easily. With the top notch coach and experience of the senior players, the new talents are groomed in the new standard cricketing format, preparing them for the future endeavors at international levels.
There have been many direct entries into the India’s team right from the IPL matches. IPL usually becomes a stage for new players to showcase their special skills, making the future selection process quite easy.
The IPL Spark
The élan that this twenty over cricketing format has created is simply mind blowing. With big shots and huge sixes, the energetic opening ceremonies, the cheerleaders spicing up the match, even more, the Bollywood stars at the gallery cheering for their team; this is one sight that India could have never imagined. The entertainment structure is completely molded in these IPL games.
This, professional T20 format started its journey in 2007 and since then have been ruling the hearts of millions of Indians. Though it also has some ugly instances like match fixing and betting, then every good thing has its pros and cons.

Post Your Comment